The Executive Committee is the inter-sessional body of the GRASP Council, providing strategic direction to the partnership and general oversight of the Secretariat. The Committee is tasked with guiding the day-to-day work of the GRASP Secretariat to ensure effective implementation of GRASP strategy. It allocates funds between projects, approves new partner applications, and takes decisions on any other partnership-related matters.

The Committee comprises of 12 members, with four representatives from all range state regions and two representatives of other partner categories, each serving a four-year term. The Committee meets four times a year, through one annual physical meeting and three remote meetings. The partner representation is currently constructed as follows:

Category A: Range states (4)
  • East Africa (Uganda)
  • West Africa (Senegal)
  • Central Africa (Congo)
  • Southeast Asia (Indonesia)
Category B: Non-range states (2)
  • France
  • Sweden
Category C: Sponsoring agencies (2)
  • UN Environment
  • United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Category D: Intergovernmental organizations (2)
  • Convention on International Trade in Endangered SpeciesĀ of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)
  • Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS)
Category E: NGOs (2)
  • Orangutan Foundation
  • Wildlife Conservation Society

The GRASP Scientific Commission also participates in the Executive Committee meetings as a non-voting member.